AP Chief Electoral Officer announces deadline for filing nominations, withdrawals

Amaravati (Andhra Pradesh) [India], Mar 18 (ANI): Chief Electoral Officer of Andhra Pradesh Gopal Krishna Dwivedi on Monday released a formal notification of details of dates for the nomination, withdrawal, etc.
“March 25 is fixed as the last date for making nominations and March 28 as the last date for withdrawal of candidatures,” the release read. “According to the release, candidates of political parties can file their nominations from today. All nominations will be scrutinised on March 26,” it further read.
Currently, there are 15 sitting MPs from Telugu Desam Party (TDP), three from YSR Congress Party and two from the BJP.
BJP had fought 2014 Lok Sabha elections in alliance with TDP which later walked out of alliance over special category status to the state.
All 25 Lok Sabha constituencies in Andhra Pradesh will go to polls on April 11.
The election for 175 assembly constituencies in Andhra Pradesh shall take place on April 11 in single phase along with the Lok Sabha election in the state.
In 2014 assembly elections, N Chandra Babu Naidu-led TDP had won 103 seats and YSR Congress won 67 seats. BJP had won only four seats and the Congress could not win even a single seat. (ANI)

Leave A Reply