Newly elected, re-elected Members of Rajya Sabha take oath, aaffirmation

M. Venkaiah Naidu, Chairman, Rajya Sabha advises the Members to go through the publications related to Parliamentary procedures. Advises Members to maintain high standards of conduct in public life. Naidu emphasized on three D's namely Debate, Discuss and Decide.


Advises to maintain ‘Surakshit Doori’

The newly elected/ re-elected Members of Rajya Sabha in the recently held Biennial/ bye-elections from the States of Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand and Karnataka were administered oath/affirmation today in the Chamber of Rajya Sabha. Due to the ongoing pandemic, administration of oath/affirmation was done in the chamber of the Rajya Sabha for the second time during inter-session. The following Members took oath/affirmation today:


1.  Narayana Koragappa


2. Shri Brijlal
3. Shrimati Geeta alias Chandraprabha
4. Shri Ramji
5. Shri Hardwar Dubey
6. Shri Hardeep Singh Puri
7. Shri Neeraj Shekhar
8. Shri B. L. Verma
9. Prof. Ram Gopal Yadav


10. Shri Naresh Bansal

Naidu welcomed the newly elected/re-elected Members of Rajya Sabha and conveyed his best wishes after the oath taking ceremony.

Naidu also advised the Members to go through the publications titled ‘Rajya Sabha at work’, ‘Practice and Procedure of Parliament by Kaul and Shakdher’, ‘Members Handbook’, ‘Rule Book’ and other publications related to Parliamentary practices before the commencement of the next session to enable them to become conversant with the practice and procedures of the House.

Naidu added that the people have a lot of expectations from the Members and accordingly advised them to maintain high standards of conduct in public life. Shri Naidu emphasized that Rajya Sabha being a House of Elders, the youngsters and people at large look upto the Rajya sabha Members for guidance and advice, and accordingly it is imperative to maintain high standards of conduct which adds to the Decency, Dignity and Decorum of the House. Shri Naidu also advised the Members to focus on three D’s namely Debate, Discuss and Decide and avoid taking recourse to disruption.

Expressing his concern about the prevailing pandemic, Shri Naidu called upon the Members to follow the various guidelines issued by the Central and State Governments regarding the current pandemic so as to set an example for the public to follow.

Naidu stressed upon the necessity of wearing masks and maintaining ‘Surakshit Doori’ mentioning that he prefers the word ‘Surakshit Doori’ over ‘Samajik Doori’.
The Hon’ble Chairman informed that today’s oath taking ceremony has been held to enable Members to participate and contribute in Committee proceedings during inter-session period.

Thaawarchand Gehlot, Leader of the House; Shri Pralhad Joshi, Minister of Parliamentary Affairs; Shri V. Muraleedharan & Shri Arjun Ram Meghwal, Ministers of State for Parliamentary Affairs and Shri Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank, Minister of Education were also present on the occasion.


Leave A Reply